This too shall pass

There are many days when I feel overwhelmed, over committed and tired.  I think many women today are feeling the same way.   I need to remember that whatever I am going through will eventually change.  This world is constantly moving and changing and so am I.  My mood is never consistent, my thoughts change, and what is bothering me today will seem insignificant next year.

I find that spending quiet time in meditation and prayer brings me joy and helps me feel better.  It helps me reflect on the things that are significant and let go of the things that are not.

I just want to leave you with a visual reminder of the “this too shall pass” principle that a friend once showed me. Make a fist and look at your knuckles, you will see peaks and valleys.  This is what a life well lived will have;  peaks and valleys, peaks and valleys.   Right now you may be in a valley, but eventually you will be on a peak once again.  Just keep making a fist and fighting the good fight.  Take each day one at a time and try to find joy and happiness in everything you do.

There is a story about a King who asked his servant to find him a ring.  The ring, he told the servant,  had magical powers in so much that –  If a happy man wore it, he would become sad… and if a unhappy man wore it, he would become happy.   The king knew that no such ring existed, but thought he would teach his servant a bit of humility.  He gave the servant six months to find the ring.

The servant searched high and low, but could not find such a ring.  On the night before he was to deliver the piece of jewelry, he met a man in the village square.  ‘I am looking for a ring” he told the merchant, “Have you a ring that will make a happy man forget his joy, and the brokenhearted forget his sorrows?”   He watched as the man engraved some words on a plain gold ring.

The next day, the King summoned the servant, “Have you found what I sent you after?” All the others in the room laughed and the King wore a big smile.  The servant handed the King the ring, “Here it is your majesty.”  The king read the inscription on the ring and his smile disappeared.  It simply stated … This too shall pass!

Galatians 6:9   And let us not grow weary of doing good, for in due season we will reap, if we do not give up.

8 responses

  1. This is exactly what I was looking for.
    This too shall pass are words to live by – thx!

  2. Dear Sally,

    WOW! I just read your lovely writing’s and I’m impressed.
    can I adopt you? So I’m so happy to learn of your journey
    with the Lord. I have only gotten through Karen’s illness
    by His Grace, strength and mercy. I have some wonderful
    books of faiith if you are interested to read,let me know.
    Right now I am in two Bible Studies and one we are doing ist\
    and 2nd Peter and the other one is “The Wonderful Spirit
    Filled Life by Charles Stanley, Get back to me-Aunt Marilyn

  3. Lawrence Menhennett | Reply

    I want to thank for you for some of the pleasant posts you happen to be showing on this webpage.

  4. Woah exactly what I was looking for, regards for posting.

  5. Life is full of twists and turns, peaks and valleys.
    You never know where you’ll end up next.
    Thanx
    Jane

  6. These are words to live by. Excellent Sally = I enjoy reading your blog. keep up the good work.

  7. Dollie Shamburger | Reply

    enjoy reading your blog, especially this post. Keep ’em coming.

  8. Hi there I am so glad I found your weblog, I really found you by mistake, while I was researching for something else, Anyways I am here now and would just like to say kudos for a fantastic post on ‘this too shall pass’ and an all round fun blog (I also love the theme/design), Please do keep up the excellent job.

Leave a Reply

