Grandma Grace

Last weekend my mother-in-law Grace, went to be with the lord.  She had been a huge part of my life for over 30 years.  I was so proud of my husband and daughter as the got up together at her funeral and paid tribute to the wonderful woman who touched them so deeply.  My daughter Amanda, wrote a beautiful eulogy that I would like to share with you today.

Today, as we celebrate the life of my Grandma Grace, I would like to reflect and share my thoughts with all of you. I have never felt more loved than I did when I was spending time with my grandparents. I will never forget the constant aroma of cookies and my stomach will never forgive me for how many jars of spaghettio’s I consumed at her house as a child. And I am glad that I had her to step in whenever my dad or uncle would tease me, she would give them a quick slap to the back of the head and tell them to leave me alone.

Being the only grandchild, I was smothered constantly with love and gifts for birthday’s Christmas, and sending cards for every holiday.  Grandma was always asking me how school was and was always persistent on making sure I got the most out of my education. She was my motivation for everything because seeing her happy was one of the most precious sights I’ve had in my 20 years of living. This last semester at college I strove and accomplished by making Dean’s list and I know she was so proud of me.

Her heart was so big and filled with love for not just me but for my grandpa and my whole family. My grandparents’ relationship is one I have always admired because of how evident their love for one another was. Everyone would always tell me how much she loved me and how I was the light of her life; at the time I took it for granted, never thinking twice about her love or her protectiveness over me. But today, I feel fortunate and blessed to have had such a wonderful and caring woman who loved me as much as she did.

I have the most beautiful angel now looking over me and guiding me for the rest of my life. Nothing will ever replace the love I have for her and how happy I am to have had such a close relationship with her. Thank you for being such a large part of my life Grandma, I love you.

Leave a Reply

